Ukraine, Georgia, the European Free Trade Area members Norway and Iceland, as well as the candidate countries for the accession to the EU, namely Montenegro and Albania, supported the continuation of  European Union sanctions against Russia for the Crimea occupation, the European Council reports.

The adopted sanctions bundle against the Russian Federation stipulates an embargo on the import of products from the Crimea, tourist services, the issuance of visas and the sale of some technologies to Crimean companies, as well as investments in the Crimea, including any real estate or business purchases by European companies.

To recap, on 18 June, the EU Council decided to extend the Crimean sanctions against Russia for a year, until June 2021. Initially, the sanctions were introduced by the European Union after the Crimea illegal occupation by the Russian Federation in 2014.

Natalia Tolub

All News ›