The Ukrainian Cabinet of Ministers has added 175 objects located in the territory of the Russian-occupied Crimea to the cultural heritage sites list and included them in the Ukrainian State Register of Immovable Monuments.

The relevant resolution was adopted during a government meeting.

According to the Cabinet of Ministers press-service, 164 objects of cultural heritage on the territory of the Crimean Peninsula and 11 located in Sevastopol were added to the list.

“Also, these objects are excluded from the list of accounting and protection of architectural monuments in the Ukrainian SSR,” the statement said.

In particular, the list includes Genoese fortresses in Sudak and Feodosia, the Khan’s Palace in Bakhchisarai, Vorontsov and Livadia palaces, the “Swallow’s Nest”, the John the Baptist Church (VIII century, Kerch), the tombs of “Eski Durbe” and “Durbe Haji” (Bakhchisarai), the fountains (XIV century, Stary Krym), the Resurrection Church (XIX century, Foros), Kichkine dacha (early XIX century, Gaspra), Tea house and park buildings in Alupka (1824-1860). Also, the several residential buildings built in the XVIII-XIX centuries in Simferopol entered the list.

As a reminder, the Russian government included 220 cultural heritage sites located in the occupied Crimea in the unified state register of cultural heritage sites of the peoples of Russia by its order of October 17, 2015.

In response to these actions, the Ministry of Culture of Ukraine stated that the decision had been illegal, had no legal basis and violated international law.

Bohdan Marusyak

All News ›