European Union Preparing Restoration of Free Entry from Ukraine

EU Ukraine flags

The ambassadors of the European Union have approved an updated list of countries for which coronavirus-related travel restrictions to the EU should be lifted. Moldova, Armenia, Azerbaijan, and Ukraine are on the list.

“EU ambassadors today decided to add Ukraine to the recommended list of third countries for which travel restrictions to the EU should be lifted. The list should be officially updated tomorrow. Moldova, Armenia, and Azerbaijan already on it,” Radio Free Europe / Radio Liberty correspondent Rikard Jozwiak posted on Twitter.

It is noted that the decision is advisory in nature and is not a direct guideline for governments of the EU member states. A number of EU countries actually already allowed entry from Ukraine subject to certain conditions.

This recommendation also covers non-EU Schengen states (Iceland, Liechtenstein, Norway, Switzerland).

Previously, the European Union updated its list of “safe” countries on 1 July by adding Canada, Armenia, Azerbaijan, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Brunei, Jordan, Kosovo, Moldova, Montenegro, Qatar, and Saudi Arabia to it.

According to the formula used by the EU, less than 100 cases of new coronavirus cases per 100,000 population must be recorded for 14 days.

Bohdan Marusyak

Related posts

Netherlands Preparing Another Lawsuit against Russia over Downing of Flight MH17


Recognition of Crimea by Belarusians: Three Dangers Without Answer


Russian Occupation Exacerbates Negative Demographic Trends


SBU: About 7,000 Officers of Russian Special Services Destabilise Situation in Ukraine