President of Russia Vladimir Putin, President of Azerbaijan Ilham Aliyev, and Prime Minister of Armenia Nikol Pashinyan signed agreements on the further development of Nagorno-Karabakh during talks in Moscow. It came almost two months after the signing of a Moscow-brokered ceasefire agreement that put an end to six weeks of fierce fighting over the breakaway region of Nagorno-Karabakh.

According to the Kremlin’s website, the signed document envisages the establishment of a working group to resolve the economic problems of Nagorno-Karabakh by the end of January 2021. The group will include the deputy prime ministers of Russia, Armenia, and Azerbaijan and will focus on transport infrastructure, specific projects of which should be submitted by expert subgroups created within this group by the end of February.

As a reminder, the contingent sent by the Russian Federation to Nagorno-Karabakh to perform the role of “peacekeepers” consisted mainly of contract soldiers from the 15th separate motorised infantry brigade of the Central Military District of the Russian Armed Forces based in Samara region. The military of this unit took part in the seisure of Crimea and the occupation of part of Donbas.

Natalia Tolub

All News ›