Russia’s Foreign Ministry Expels Diplomats from Slovakia and Baltic States

Russia’s Foreign Ministry announced its decision to expel three Slovak diplomats, two diplomats from Lithuania, one Latvian diplomat, and another from Estonia.

“A strong protest was lodged to the heads of diplomatic missions over provocative and unfounded actions regarding the expulsion of staff of Russian embassies in these Baltic states. It is noted that Vilnius, Riga, and Tallinn continue to pursue an openly hostile course towards our country under the guise of pseudo-solidarity with the Czech Republic’s groundless actions towards Russia,” reads one of the statements.

As a reminder, Slovakia endorsed a decision to declare three Russian diplomats personae non gratae on 22 April. On 23 April, Latvia, Lithuania, and Estonia announced their decision to expel Russian diplomats, accusing them of activities incompatible with diplomatic status.

Four EU Member States approved those decisions in solidarity with the Czech Republic, which accused Russia of involvement in explosions at the ammunition depots in Vrbětice in 2014.

Natalia Tolub

Follow us on Twitter
Related posts

President of Ukraine Addresses NATO: We Deter Russia From Destroying Us and You (video)


Belarus Checks Readiness of Its Armed Forces


Narrative(s) in Media Coverage of Ukraine – 20-27 June 2022


Constitution Day: Protection of Ukraine is Most Important Function of State And Cause of Entire Ukrainian People