The Prime Minister of Canada Justin Trudeau spoke against the idea of ​​USA President Donald Trump to invite the Russian Federation to participate in the next meeting of the G7 member states.

“Russia was excluded from the G7 after the invasion of Crimea, and it continues to disregard international rules and regulations, so it is not part of the G7 and will continue to be outside this group,” the Canadian prime minister reminded.

Earlier, Trump’s initiative to convene the G7 and invite Russia there was criticized by UK Prime Minister Boris Johnson. The government has assured that Johnson will veto any attempt to return the Russian Federation to the G7. The United Kingdom also recalled the illegal annexation of Crimea and noted that world leaders had not yet seen “changes in Moscow’s behavior”.

At the same time, EU foreign policy chief Joseph Borrell said that although the United States currently holds the G7, the country cannot change the group’s format on its own.

It will be recalled that the G7 includes the United States, Italy, Japan, Canada, France, Germany, and the United Kingdom. Summits of state leaders are held once a year in each of the countries. This year, the “Big Seven” is headed by Donald Trump.

Last year, the leaders of the G7 member states, following discussions on the “Russian issue”, concluded that it was necessary to change cooperation with Russia, but the question of its return to the G7 is premature.

All News ›