Ukraine is not on the list of countries to which the Council of the European Union has agreed to lift coronavirus restrictions on minor travel to the EU from 1 July.

This was reported by the Ukrainian media with reference to the decision of the Council of the European Union.

According to the document, from July 1, EU member states must begin lifting restrictions on travel at external borders for residents of the following third countries: Algeria, Australia, Canada, Georgia, Japan, Montenegro, Morocco, New Zealand, Rwanda, Serbia, South Korea, Thailand, Tunisia, Uruguay, and China. In the case of the latter – subject to mutual abolition of restrictions.

Restrictions are not lifted for citizens of these countries, but at the place of residence, so Ukrainians living in these countries will be able to enter the EU for the purpose of insignificant travel.

Criteria for determining third countries whose residents will be allowed to enter the EU include, but are not limited to, the epidemiological situation and coronavirus control measures such as social distancing, as well as economic and social aspects.

It is noted that the list of states will be reviewed and, depending on the circumstances, will be updated every two weeks. Travel restrictions can be lifted in whole or in part or reintroduced for a specific country that is already on the list.

Earlier, the Ukrainian Cabinet explained that the EU will not open its borders to Ukrainians from July 1 due to different dynamics of coronavirus disease in Europe and Ukraine.

It will be recalled that at the beginning of the introduction of quarantine measures in the European Union, some Ukrainian experts expressed fears that the pandemic would cause Ukraine to lose its visa-free regime with the EU.

Bohdan Marusyak

All News ›